Tirreno-Adriatico: Britain’s Adam Yates misses out on title by one second

Tirreno-Adriatico champion Primoz Roglic (centre), Adam Yates (left) and Jakob Fuglsang

Britain’s Adam Yates left out out on the Tirreno-Adriatico title by one 2nd as Primoz Roglic claimed the total win after the stage-seven time trial.

Mitchelton-Scott rider Yates, 26, held a 25-2nd lead going into the final day however Roglic came 11th in the time trial, with Yates finishing Forty eighth, 26 seconds late the Slovenian.

“There wasn’t some distance more I would form, the strongest man obtained,” said Yates.

“I said that 25 seconds is never really really ample, however I did a accurate time trial.”

He added: “I did the ideal I would.”

Belgium’s Victor Campenaerts of Lotto-Soudal obtained the time trial in 11 minutes 23 seconds, with Jumbo-Visma rider Roglic finishing 13 seconds late him.

Yates would private become the principle British rider to win the Italian scuttle, whereas Denmark’s Jakob Fuglsang (Astana) took third enlighten total sooner than Tom Dumoulin (Sunweb).

Tirreno-Adriatico stage seven time trial outcomes

1. Victor Campenaerts (Bel/Lotto-Soudal) 11min 23sec

2. Alberto Bettiol (Ita/EF Training First Authentic Biking) +3secs

3. Jos van Emden (Ned/Jumbo-Visma) +4secs

4. Sebastian Langeveld (Ned/EF Training First Authentic Biking) +6secs

5. Yves Lampaert (Bel/Deceuninck-Instant-Step) +7secs

11. Primoz Roglic (Slo/Personnel Jumbo-Visma) +13secs

forty eight. Adam Yates (GB/Mitchelton-Scott) +39secs

Tirreno-Adriatico fashioned classification

1. Primoz Roglic (Slo/Personnel Jumbo-Visma) 25hr 28min

2. Adam Yates (GB/Mitchelton-Scott) +1sec

3. Jakob Fuglsang (Den/Astana) +30secd

4. Tom Dumoulin (Ned/Personnel Sunweb) +1min 25secs

5. Thibaut Pinot (Fra/Groupama-FDJ) +2mins 32secs

Read More